Messi’s challenge for Argentina’s second consecutive title

Copa America opens on June 21, 2024

The Argentina national soccer team, led by Lionel Messi (Miami), known as the ‘God of Soccer’, is attempting to win the Copa America (South American Soccer Championships), which determines the best soccer team in South America, for the second consecutive time.
The 2024 Copa America will begin in the United States on June 21, 2024, lasting 25 days.
Copa America is a competition that determines the best in South America, and this time, it expanded its scope to cover the entire American continent by adding 6 North and Central American countries to the 10 South American countries.

Focus on ‘football star’ Messi

It has been eight years since the 2016 Copa America, which marked its 100th anniversary, as a competition spanning South America, North and Central America.
All eyes are on Messi, the world-famous ‘soccer star’.

Messi, who wore an Argentina uniform in the 2021 Copa America and tasted winning a major tournament for the first time in his life, was selected as the tournament’s top scorer (4 goals) at the time and also the Most Valuable Player (MVP).
He then took the lead in Argentina’s victory at the 2022 Qatar World Cup, completely dispelling the national team’s bad luck.

With participation in the 2026 North and Central America World Cup uncertain, this tournament may be Messi’s last major tournament as a member of the Argentina national team.

If Messi adds 4 goals, he will be tied for 1st place on Copa America’s all-time scoring list

If Messi adds 4 goals in this tournament, he will be on par with Norberto Mendes (Argentina) and Zinziho (Brazil), who are tied for first place in Copa America’s total goals (17 goals).
Additionally, Messi, who has played 34 games in the Copa America so far, will be ranked first with the most games played in the tournament if he plays just one more game.

If Argentina, which is aiming for its second consecutive title in the competition, wins, it will become its 16th overall winner and first place with the most wins.
It is currently tied for first place with Uruguay (15 times).

This tournament will be divided into 4 groups of 4 teams, and the 1st and 2nd place from each group will advance to the quarterfinals to determine the winner.
Argentina competes in Group A against Canada, Peru and Chile.

Brazil, considered a championship rival, is in Group D along with Colombia, Paraguay, and Costa Rica.

by 토토사이트

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *